HBC Members – and Others!

Hobart Baptist Church would not exist without the support and
care of our official membership.

Annual Members’ Meeting

Sunday 22 November 2020

Includes election of Deacons and Officers

The Hobart Baptist Church Annual Members’ Meeting for 2020 will be held in the Hall on Sunday 22 November, after the 10am service.

The Business of the Annual Members’ Meeting will include:

  • Election of Deacons and Officers
  • Appointment of Ministry Leaders
  • Reception of the Audited Report and Financial Statements for 1 July 2019-30 June 2020.
  • Appointment of an Auditor for the current financial year

The Nominations Book is now open, and will close at midday on Thursday 12 November. Normally the book would be placed in the Foyer, however, due to Covid-19 it will be in the hands of the Secretary.

Nominations are called for Officers:

  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Assistant Secretary
  • Assistant Treasurer
  • and Deacons

The term of office is one (1) year for Officers and three (3) years for Deacons.

Our current Treasurer, Peter Tattam, will not be seeking re-election. After three and a half years as Treasurer, during possibly the busiest period in our Church history, he is in need of a well deserved rest.

Retiring Deacons are Heather Galloway, Joshua Lattimore and Celia Munro. Josh has decided after two terms (six years) as a Deacon it is time to step aside. This opens the door for one or two new people to step up and serve.

The church is poised to begin a new chapter in its history. So now is a perfect opportunity for anyone who feels they are being called to a leadership capacity at HBC to step forward.

Please pray about how you may further serve in the life of Hobart Baptist. Feel free to speak with any of the current deacons and ministry leaders if you are at all interested.

Members who would like to nominate someone please do so through the Secretary, Assistant Secretary (Kaaren Stott) or one of the Nominating Committee members (Scott Ambrose and David Needham).

General Members’ Meeting

This will follow on after the Annual Members’ Meeting on 22 November 2020.

Agenda Items will include:-

  • Reports from the Senior Pastor, Secretary and Treasurer
  • Presentation of the Financial Statements for 1st Quarter, 2020-21
  • Application for membership – Laurie Rowston – transfer back to HBC
  • Building Redevelopment Update

Heather Galloway, Secretary

Members’ Meetings are held quarterly, and are open to members and non-members alike.

The Members are led by the Deacons, who meet monthly.

HBC Diaconate

Chair: Scott Ambrose
Secretary: Heather Galloway
Assistant Secretary: Kaaren Stott
Treasurer: Peter Tattam
Assistant Treasurer: vacant
Ex-officio: Stephen Baxter
Ordinary Deacons: Celia Munro; Joanna Sinclair; Josh Lattimore; Moo Lay Graham; David Needham