HBC Members – and Others!

Hobart Baptist Church would not exist without the support and
care of our official membership.

Outcomes – Annual Members’ Meeting – 26 November 2023

The Hobart Baptist Church Annual Members’ Meeting took place held in the Gibson Hall
last Sunday 26 November 2023 following the 10am service.


The election took place by ballot, and all those nominated were elected unanimously:-

Deacons elected for a 3 year term: David Knox, Celia Munro and Heather Galloway. For a 1 year term: Ben Wagner.

Officers elected for 2024:

  • Secretary: No Nomination
  • Treasurer: Ben Wagner
  • Assistant Secretary: Joanna Sinclair
  • Assistant Treasurer: Kylie Henderson

The following nominations for Children and Youth Leaders were confirmed:

  • Kids’ Church: Tracy Ortiz
  • Youth: Scott Ambrose
  • Boys’ Brigade Captain: Scott Ambrose
  • Boys’ Brigade Chaplain: Kelvin Smith

The Finance Committee for 2024 was confirmed: Ben Wagner, Kylie Henderson, Geoffrey Clarke, Heather Galloway and William Maguire.

The Pastoral Visitation Coordinator for 2024 was confirmed: David Knox

We are grateful for the willingness of these people to serve Hobart Baptist Church in this way. Please pray for them in the coming year.

The Financial Report and Statements for 1 July 2022 – 30 June 2023 were presented by the Chairman and accepted.

HBC General Members’ Meeting

A General Members’ Meeting followed on after the Annual Members Meeting.

  • Reports from the Senior Pastor and Secretary were presented.
  • The Final Budget for 2023-2024 FY, as presented by the Chairman, was accepted.
  • The meeting agreed to reappoint Matt Henderson as Associate Pastor, 2 days per week, from the 7 February 2024 when his current 2 year term expires.
  • Jeremiah Ambrose was accepted into Membership of HBC.

Heather Galloway,

Members’ Meetings are held quarterly, and are open to members and non-members alike.

The Members are led by the Deacons, who meet monthly.

HBC Diaconate 2023

Chair: Scott Ambrose
Secretary: Heather Galloway
Assistant Secretary: Joanna Sinclair
Treasurer: Vacant
Assistant Treasurer: Kylie Henderson
Ex-officio: Stephen Baxter
Ordinary Deacons: Celia Munro; David Needham; Joel Ortiz; Jing Priest